Knights News · Andrew Kline Captures Sectional Champioship

As time wind down in the 3rd period of the 138 pound championship match, the CC wrestling coaches could finally relax.  Andrew Kline controlled his Carroll opponent up 5-0 until the buzzer sounded and earned the Knights their 3rd Individual Sectional Championship in 3 years.  A missed weigh in against Carroll by Kline, made the Sectional Final a little more dramatic as Ayers from Carroll came in as the #1 seed, while Andrew sat opposite as the #2.  Andrew’s 2nd round match against Harrison went as expected as he earned a Pin Fall in 1:23.  In the semi-finals Andrew faced a Jeff opponent he had beaten previously by a Major Decision 14-2.  This time it was a little more difficult.  Battling a stomach aliment, Andrew found himself down late in the 3rd period 5-3.  Digging deep Andrew earned an Escape and a Takedown as time expired winning 6-5.  In the title match Andrew took control early with a Takedown, scored another Takedown in the 2nd period and an Escape in the 3rd.

3rd Place – 120 Dominic Skees.  After an early loss to eventual champion Vaughan from Harrison, Dom won his next 2 matches and earned his 4th straight trip to Regionals with a 3rd place finish, pinning his opponents from Faith Christian and West Lafayette.

3rd Place – 106 Calvin Pickerill.  In a missed opportunity, Calvin lost an early match to Lopez of Jeff 8-4.  Calvin battled back winning his next three matches against Harrison, Attica, and West Lafayette to earn 3rd place and his 2nd straight trip to Regionals.

5th Place – 132 Zeke Brewer went 2-2 on the day and earned a 5th place finish with a Pin Fall against McCutcheon.

5th Place – 145 John Bush spent just over 18 minutes on the mat, wrestling 5 grueling matches going 3-2 on the day.

6th Place – 170 Matthew Ramey went 1-3 on the day placing 6th in his first Sectional action as a Junior.

113 Alex Thomas, 152 Conner Reynolds, and 220 Joey Drerup competed at Sectionals but lost early round matches.

Zeke and John are alternates for the Logansport Regional.